Sky News has won News Channel of the Year at the Royal Television Society awards.

It is the 12th time the channel has won the award.

Staff were commended for showing “admirable strength in investigations, exclusives and special projects”.

It was also nominated for the Breaking News award for its Brexit deal coverage.

Speaking at the event, head of Sky News John Ryley said: “We’re always very excited to win News Channel. We never take it for granted and I think our competition is tough.

“It’s an award that reflects the hard work, energy and editorial agility of all my colleagues from top to bottom.”

Sky News also won News Channel of the Year in 2018, as well as the Breaking News award for its coverage of the Manchester Arena terror attack.

Head of News Output Neil Dunwoodie tweeted to say he was “mightily chuffed” for the Sky News team, adding it was a “big achievement in a rollercoaster year”.

Others tweeted to say they were “proud” to be a part of the team.

Sky News’ output this year has included an exclusive video of disgraced film mogul Harvey Weinstein behaving inappropriately with a woman and ultra-high definition coverage of the Royal Wedding.

preview image

Sky News provided ultra-high definition coverage of the Royal Wedding

Harvey Weinstein talks to Melissa Thompson during a business meeting

The channel obtained an exclusive video of Harvey Weinstein behaving inappropriately

This year’s awards were hosted by broadcaster Mary Nightingale at the London Hilton on Park Lane.

Other winners included Newsnight’s Emily Maitlis for Network Presenter of the Year and Channel 4 News for Scoop of the Year.

The chair of the Television Journalism Awards, Sue Inglish, said: “The Television Journalism Awards celebrate news teams that play a key role in injecting creativity and exceptional research into journalism, and are dedicated to providing the UK with the most important and dramatic stories from across the world.”


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *